Skip to main content

OrgChart Now Help Guide

Table of Contents

Updating Plans

Audience

Audience: Administrators & Read/Write Users Edition: Enterprise

Overview

Plan Owners, Collaborators, and Administrators can add, delete, move, and update records within a plan. Planners can also add a comment to any record.

A plan must be ‘Active,’ and you must have Owner or Collaborator privileges  to make updates to a plan.

Updating a Record

  1. Open an existing plan, or create a new one in the Plan Explorer.

  2. Mouse over the box you want to update. The following toolbar is displayed.

    5_2_PlanningOptions.png
  3. Select from one of the available actions. You can add a subordinate, delete the current box, move the current box, or update information about the current box.

    5_2_Plan_MakeEdit.png

    Edit the current record.

    5_2_Plan_Add.png

    Add a subordinate record.

    5_2_Plan_Move.png

    Move current record to report to another manager.

    Note

    You can also click and drag a box over a new manager. Drop the box to update its reporting line to the new manager. Dragging and dropping a box will spawn the move change editor.

    5_2_Plan_MoveOut.png

    Move current record outside of the plan.

    5_2_Plan_Suppress.png

    Remove current record.

    5_2_Plan_Comment.png

    Add a comment.

  4. After selecting an action, the Update Panel is displayed.

    5_2_1_PlanningUpdate_Panel.png

    The selected action (add, delete, move, update, or comment) determines which options within the Update Panel are enabled. The Comment and Effective Date can be modified with every action.

    Action

    Allowed Edits

    Edit

    Edit the Editable Fields.

    Add

    Update Editable Fields, PersonID, and Name.

    Move

    Select a new supervisor (Click on the Manager Name under the Reports To: heading.).

    Move Out

    Select a new supervisor who is out of the scope of the current plan (Click on the Manager Name under the Reports To: heading.).

    Delete

    No fields are editable except Comment and Effective Date.

    Comment

    No fields are editable except Comment.

  5. Note

    Note: Effective Date may not be shown in the Update Panel.

    Click OK to commit changes.

Handling Subordinates

When moving a record (within or outside of a plan) that has subordinates, the following prompt is displayed:

5_2_1_Planning_MoveManager.png

Select one of the following options to handle subordinates:

Roll Up - Subordinates now report to their manager's previous supervisor.

Before Roll Up

After Roll Up

5_2_1_Planning_BeforeRollUp.png
5_2_1_Planning_Post_Roll_Up.png

Move with Manager - Subordinates still report to their manager.

Before Move with Manager

After Move with Manager

5_2_1_Planning_BeforeRollUp.png
5_2_1_Planning_Post_Move_Manager.png

Modifying an Updated Record

To Revert or Modify an existing change:

  1. Mouse over the updated record you want to modify. The following toolbar is displayed:

    5_2_UpdateUpdatedRecord.png
  2. 5_2_Plan_Add.png

    Add subordinate box to a previously updated record.

    5_2_Plan_Comment.png

    Add a comment to a previously updated record.

    5_2_Plan_ModifyEdit.png

    Display the Update Panel to access the following options:

    • Modify Editable Fields

    • Modify or add a comment

    • Modify the Effective Date

    • Revert a change to the original value (click on the Revert button)

Viewing the Plan Overlay

OrgChart Now allows Plan Owners, Collaborators, and Viewers to toggle the Plan Overlay on and off. The Plan Overlay button is located at the top of an open plan.

OverlayIcon.png

Overlay is enabled. Symbols associated with the changes you've made in your plan are displayed.

Overlay_Off_Icon.png

Overlay is disabled. View the final state of the plan.

Plan Overlay Enabled
5_2_PlanOverlay.png
Plan Overlay Disabled
5_2_noOverlay.png

Note

Note: Plan Overlay options are also available when exporting a plan. Click on the Export icon, and then toggle Show Overlay ON to export the plan with planning symbols. Toggle Show Overlay OFF to export the plan in its final state.