OrgChart Now Help Guide

Updating Plans

Audience

Audience: Any User Edition: Enterprise & Premium

Overview

The collaborative planning module allows you to add, delete, move, and update records within a plan. You can also add a comment to any record. A plan must be ‘Active’ and you must have owner or collaborator privileges  to make updates to a plan.

Update a Record

  1. If you are not currently in the planning mode, you will need to open or create a plan. Reference the Plan Explorer topic for more information.

  2. Mouse over the box you want to update. The following toolbar is displayed.

    updating_plan_menu.png
  3. Select from one of the available actions. You can add a subordinate, delete the current box, move the current box, or update information about the current box.

    updating_plan_menu_-_Copy__2_.png

    Update the current record.

    updating_plan_menu_-_Copy__3_.png

    Add a subordinate record.

    updating_plan_menu_-_Copy__4_.png

    Move current record to report to another manager.

    updating_plan_menu_-_Copy__5_.png

    Remove the current record.

    updating_plan_menu_-_Copy.png

    Add a comment.

  4. After selecting an action, the Update Panel is displayed.

    update_panel.png

    The selected action (add, delete, move, update, or comment) determines which options within the Update Panel are enabled. The Comment and Effective Date can also be modified.

    Action

    Allowed Edits

    Update

    Update Editable Fields.

    Add

    Update Editable Fields, PersonID, and Name fields.

    Move

    Select a new supervisor (Click on the Manager Name to the right of the "Reports To:" heading.).

    Delete

    No fields are editable except Comment and Effective Date.

    Comment

    No fields are editable except Comment and Effective Date.

  5. Note

    Note: Effective Date may not be shown in the Update Panel. Reference the Plan Explorer article for more information on enabling effective dating.

    Click OK to commit changes.

Modifying an Updated Record

To Revert or Modify an existing change:

  1. Mouse over the changed box you want to modify. The following toolbar is displayed:

    modify_an_updated_record_menu.png
  2. Click on the Gear icon to display the Update Panel. Once in the Update Panel, you can:

    • Modify Editable Fields (except if deleting)

    • Modify or add a comment

    • Revert a change to original values (click on the Revert button)

    • Change the Effective Date